Nepal is mostly known for Mount Everest, the tallest mountain in the world. But what most people don’t know is that you can seek wonderful adventures in Nepal even though you are not aiming to climb Everest.

“Traveling – it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller.” – Ibn Battuta

If you are a nature lover and you seek adventure you need to put Travelling to Nepal in your bucket list.

Geography of Nepal

Nepal is located in the Himalayas, bordered to the west, east and south by the Republic of India and to the north by the People’s Republic of China.

For a small country, Nepal has tremendous geographic diversity. It rises from as low as 59 meters elevation in the tropical Terai to some 90 peaks over 7,000 meters including Earth’s highest 8,848 meters (29,029 ft) Mount Everest.

Read 17 interesting facts about Mount Everest.

My trekking adventures in the hills of Nepal

I have always been enthusiastic about trekking and I started my first 8 days trek when I was 15 years old. Since, then trekking has been an incredible experience for me.

You don’t have to search for beautiful scenery in Nepal; everywhere you look the views  are absolutely breathtaking. But most of the tourists come to Nepal and trek for days for the desire to view the stunning grand Himalayas. But for me trekking in my country has to do with more than just the amazing mountain views.

Along with the amazing views of the mountains,trekking for me has more to do with the opportunity to meet people of different cultural background. I love to seek adventures and going to new places, meeting new people and trying new food is always an exciting experience.

“Country roads, take me home to the place where I belong”. – John Denver 

For a travel enthusiast like me trekking in Nepal is truly an extra-ordinary experience as I get to explore the most astonishing mountain views along with opportunities of interaction with people of diverse culture.

Must Go Trekking Routes of Nepal:

  • Annapurna Base Camp (ABC)
  • Langtang National Park
  • Gosai Kunda
  • Upper Mustang
  • MuktiNath and Jomsom

Read more information on trekking routes of Nepal.

If you are not ready for long treks hiking around the capital is the best option for you. This gives the opportunity to see beautiful views without going too far and climbing too high. Short hikes that you could go to around Kathmandu Valley includes:

  • Champadevi Hike
  • Namo Buddha
  • Shivapuri Sundarijal
  • Jhule Suryachaur
  • Godawari Fulchowki

Read more about Short Hikes around the Kathmandu valley. 

Adventure Sport in Nepal

Nepal is well recognized for its best climbing and trekking destinations in the world. But recently along with the reputation for trekking Nepal is also gaining popularity with adventure sports. The Top Adventure Sports that one can do in Nepal includes:

  1. Bungi jumping
  2. Paragliding in Pokhara
  3. Rafting in Trisuli River

I love adventure and I like to challenge my limits. If you are a adventure freak like me who loves a heart racing and thrilling adventure. Then be sure not to miss on the popular adventure sport that you must do in Nepal.

“Sure, give me an adventure and I’ll ride it.”- Melissa Auf der Mau

My video of Bungi Jumping from the height of 160 meter or 520 feet. It is the second tallest place in the world where you can Bungi jump from.It was one of the most exciting and enthralling moments of my life which I cherish it even today.

Read more details on adventure sport in Nepal.

Leave a Reply

